UCD SYSTEMATIC REVIEW LIBGUIDE

BLOG

For this week’s post I am reviewing the UCD Systematic Review Libguide. As I mentioned in last weeks post, I wasn’t familiar with libguides before this assignment and I have never carried out a systematic review before so it was my first time to look at this particular guide.

If I was asked to carry out a systematic review tomorrow I wouldn’t have a clue what to do. In the past I would have used Google to help me find a solution to my problems but really the UCD Systematic Review Libguide is the best place to start. As you can see from the picture above, the guide defines what a systematic review is and gives the students step by step instructions on how to carry out their own research in a clear and concise manner. The best feature of this guide is that it defines what it is in the introduction, thus making it more accessible for first time users who are not familiar with what a systematic review is.

The guide has multiple links to useful sources under the ‘Guides/Manuals’ tab. These are excellent links but I think it would also be useful to add some links to social media sites related to the field, such as blogs. I think this would make the libguide more interactive and its a good way for students to follow whats going on in the field.

At the bottom of every page in the guide we can see that the web page is regularly updated meaning that the contact information is up to date if you should need to get in touch with any queries. Overall, this is a very comprehensive libguide but it feels a bit static compared to the UCD Applied Social Science Libguide I reviewed last week. That guide had links to the UCD Library and department Twitter news feeds, even though I’m not a Twitter user it gave the guide the impression of being more up to date.

http://libguides.ucd.ie/systematic/intro

http://libguides.ucd.ie/appliedsocsci/intro

Leave a Reply

