Thing 13 – Professional Organisations

logo

I am a member of the Library Association of Ireland (LAI). As membership runs from the start to the end of the calendar year, I joined for the first time at the start of 2015 instead of towards the end of 2014. The website is pretty good and has links to all the Special Interest Groups (SIG’s). However, I actually find out most of the information I need about the SIG’s through social media like Facebook and more recently Twitter.

Joining the LAI has been a really great experience, it doesn’t matter what stage you are at in your LIS career, everyone is very friendly and supportive. I have learnt a lot from attending various conferences and events organised by LAI SIG’s. However, the biggest advantage to joining a professional organisation is the support network you build and the skills you develop from participating in different professional development activities such as Rudai 23. Recently, I joined the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) and I’m looking forward to getting involved in more activities when I relocate to London.

Image from here.

Leave a Reply

