Thing 18 – Communicating Through Photographs

22703739760_29bd30b784_z

The task for Thing 18 is to set up a Flickr and an Instagram account in order to explore ways of communicating through photographs. These are two of the most popular forms of photograph based social media platforms that can be used to curate photographs. Its taken me a while to get around to writing up this blog post because although I can see the benefits of using these platforms in a library they aren’t relevant to what I was doing and I didn’t really want to set up personal accounts. However, I didn’t want to give up on this task and after exploring my options I gave into setting up an Instagram account as it was near impossible to view profiles with out having an account.Most public institutions that use Flikr have set there profiles as public so they are easy to view without an account.

I only have my Instagram account a few weeks now and at first I found it quite difficult to use but I’m staring to get used to it. At first I was planning to use my account to get over with Thing 18 and then delete it but I’m starting to get used to it and might keep it for a little longer.

Flikr and Instagram are both very different platforms, one is practical and the other is trendy but using a combination is a great way to form connections with clients and potential clients of a library. Flickr is a better option if you want to curate images on line as you can set up different folders. The National Library has uploaded large amounts of its collection onto Flikr which has proven as an effective way to crowd source metadata on its photograph collection. From a users point of view Flikr allows clients to access the collections with out needing to be on site making it easier to access and also assists in preserving the original documents.

Image from here.

Leave a Reply

